c’est la face-Kat Von D Serpentina Eyeshadow Palette First Impressions

Everyone! It’s in my possession! It’s a real thing! I have it in real life! And this is what I have to say about it.

Today’s Jams: Lose Yourself-Eminem

Sooo I got it in the mail Monday night. I almost died of excitement. Like, I’ve been waiting for this palette for months. All of the sparkly colors, all of the swatches…to put it simply, Kat had your girl hyped. Now, it’s finally mine, and I have the privilege to be able to talk about it.IMG_5500

First, can we just focus a little bit on the design? Because this is hand drawn. I am SHOOK. All the swirlies and the hieroglyph, I just. Okay. Y’all know I try not to judge a book by its cover, but the cover is so pretty. Kat definitely took your girl to Egypt with the design of the palette. Anyway, I’m going to get into the actual contents.

IMG_5501Opening the palette, you are greeted by eight eyeshadow shades and one loose eyeshadow powder, which is SUCH  a pretty highlight color and all I use it for. That color is called Prophet, and it’s a really shocking gold color that’s all sparkly and reminds me of golden sunshine. The other colors, okay, I apologize for my swatch photos in advance, I was so excited to try them they got a little ridic and the last two ended up on the back of my arm. Anyway, other than the two matte shades, which are on either end of the palette, (Venom and Bloodmilk), every other shade is sparkly and beautiful and y’all know how much I love my sparkle.

The colors themselves are cool tones, they don’t really go past the cool end of the color spectrum. Obviously the shadows are super pigmented, but there’s a few I want to point out.

Bloodmilk is a beautiful red shade, and one thing I appreciate is how much care went into the pigmentation of it. Red is a very hard color to put pigment in, because the color payoff in all the shades of red is just a difficult one to pull off, but I love the brown base that was used to create Bloodmilk, it makes the color wearable for every skin type, in my opinion.

Ankh is a black color, but it has gold base and sparkle notes, so it’s super gorgeous and actually really easy to wear. Not only for a smoky eye, but for a daily look if you were to make your shadow more dramatic or just want a simple liner, Ankh is great for that. And the next one, oh my God I’m so excited, everyone. Everyone!

Nile is the most intense and perfect shade of blue I’ve ever seen in my life. It is the ocean, it is my favorite set of eyes, it is just everything! So breathtaking! So amazing! I’ve never seen a blue that killer in my entire life. I nearly cried when I swatched it, it was so beautiful.

IMG_5505
Wearing: Heiroglyph, Prophet, Medusa

So for the wear of this palette, I was astounded. I wore three shadows for twelve hours and they did not move. And my eyes are some of the oiliest components of my face. Let me put this in perspective for you.

I went to the Gym and did a full intensive workout and my makeup was still intact. 

I know, I know-pics or it didn’t happen. Honestly, I forgot. Just trust me. It worked. I was dumbfounded. So don’t worry about the wear, it’s not moving.

So that concludes my first impressions of the Serpentina palette, I just think it’s s gorgeous and has great wear and pigmentation, definitely worth the money. That’s all for now, see you all next week!

xx, Kay.

 

 

2 thoughts on “c’est la face-Kat Von D Serpentina Eyeshadow Palette First Impressions

Leave a Reply

