ipsy Glam Bag May 2016

Hi lovelies! Last night, I got my May ipsy bag and I’m so excited to share it with you all, because I really enjoy the items in the bag this month. They’re all so bright and shimmery-perfect for summer! 
So my ipsy bag always gets here with lightning speed, which is something I appreciate, as being an extremely impatient person. This month’s bag was definitely travel themed, “Destination Chic”. I love my version of the bag; I love the pink and white colors and the vintage look of it, with the little button instead of a zipper like usual. The shape is kind of like the February bag, which if you recall was an envelope too. (And what convinced me to try a subscription!)

Today’s Jams: Please, Don’t Forget Me-POP ETC

SO going into this month’s items…IMG_3934

1. Vera Nova Eyeshadow Brush

2. Hikari Shimmer Bronzer in radiate 

3. Smashbox X-Rated Mascara Volumateur 

4. Formula 10.0.6 Pores Be Pure Skin-Clarifying Mud Mask (Strawberry and Yarrow)

5. Pacifica Eyeshadow Trio in Skinny Dip, Crush, and Lovely

Per usual, I tried all of my glam bag items at my earliest convenience, and here’s what I have to say about them.

Vera Nova Eyeshadow Brush

I like the feel of the brush, it’s a fine and soft synthetic fiber, and the bristles have a nice catch for product. The skinny body of the brush makes it easy to handle and maneuver. My only criticism is that it creates harsh lines, and the blending abilities aren’t that great. I wouldn’t recommend for any crease work. Overall though, it’s an average brush and I used it to apply the eyeshadow trio.

Hikari Shimmer Bronzer

Multi tone bronzers and I have an interesting relationship. One tone always seems to take over and it’s always the tone I like the least. So I was a little skeptical encountering the sparkly gold shades because I didn’t want to look like an ear of corn. I learned that this bronzer is highly pigmented, and should be used with caution and a clear plan. Though the bronzer did give me a summer-y glow, it wasn’t a warm glow, which is what I’m used to. I felt like a lite-brite. To put in short: I would’ve never picked this up at the store, but that’s why I purchased an ipsy subscription, to be bold and try new things. And once I worked with it, I found that I liked the brightness of the product.

IMG_3940
In addition to this month’s ipsy bag: Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Bronze in Deep, ABH Brow Definer, Kat Von D Liquid Lipstick in Lolita II.

Smashbox X-Rated Mascara Volumateur

I don’t know what a “volumateur” is, and I’m starting to think makeup companies think of new and funky words to describe their products. Which is fine by me, as long as it works. And actually, this mascara reminds me of Benefit’s They’re Real! mascara, because it’s very natural looking, which is what I looooooove about mascara. The length it made my lashes in i n s a n e. I was very happy with how they worked with my lashes, because I got my spiders!! The formula is voluminous so it wasn’t like individual spider lashes, they curled up together as a team. I dig that. I dig this mascara. Smashbox is a great brand, I’ve found that it is actually worth my skepticism and money.

Formula 10.0.6 Mud Mask

I’ve been kind of a mask fiend lately, and I’ve tried so many even in the past two weeks. I was excited to try this mask though, because I’ve always heard a lot about Formula 10.0.6, and it’s usually good things. So I left it on the recommended 10-15 minutes. The squeeze tube (which comes in a really funky color, I might add), claimes that

“This skin-refining mask with berry boosters goes straight to work on clogged pores. Strawberry and rosemary eliminate impurities , which arrow clarifies skin for instant complexion perfection.”

The mask does smell lovely. I love berries, so if you’re a berry person, you’re gonna fall in love with the scent too. It kind of smells like Fresh and Flirty, the spray from Victoria’s Secret. When I washed off the mask after 12 minutes, I loved the fresh feeling it gave. Is it just me or is that not the best feeling ever? The feeling of all the gunk that’s been stripped of your face, I feel new again! Anyway, I did notice a smaller pore size, which is thrilling, because my pores are huge. Rosemary did it’s thang too, because most of the night’s impurities were nowhere to be found.

Pacifica Eyeshadow Trio

Y’all know how I feel about shimmery colors. Especially on my eyes. I’m obsessed. So I was too hyped to try these new colors.IMG_3935 As a side note, I was super impressed by the packaging, because the box said that it’s 100% vegan, coconut scented, and not tested on animals. And as someone who’s transitioning into vegetarian with veganism being an ultimate goal, that made me really happy. While I didn’t really smell the coconuts, I did love the shimmer. Though not as pigmented as ColourPop (But what really can be?), I still found to take a liking to the shades and how they worked with my skin tone.

Overall, I really loved the products in this month’s ipsy bag, I think the selections keep getting better and better! There are so many different aspects that go into each bag, and there are still things from last month’s bag that I’ve yet to try and that I’m excited to use. The excitement never goes away and that’s something amazing. This is a simple way to try new things and be bold, and because I took the beauty quiz, I know I’ll like a majority, if not all, of things I’m sent.

4 thoughts on “ipsy Glam Bag May 2016

  1. Eep! You have me so excited right now. I’m getting the X-Rated, the Formula 10.0.6 Mask and the Pacifica trio. The struggle is real on deciding which mascara to open first since I have that, a Mermaid Lashes one, and the They’re Real, AFTER I use up the two open ones. UGH!

    Like

    1. Isn’t it always so exciting to get these in the mail?! And I would say if you’ve already used They’re Real in the past to give the smashbox one a try because the wear of them is very similar. If not, I would go with They’re Real because nothing can ever touch or compare to everything great about that mascara. I love it so much I’ve made a post about benefit mascaras lol. I hope I see what else you’ve got in your bag!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

