c’est la face-Bronze of a Champion [REVIEW]

Why go for the gold when you have a perfect bronzer to review?

Today’s Jams: Scholarships-Future (ft. Drake)

So I went to the drugstore a couple days ago, and while mulling up and down the makeup aisles, I saw it. Sparkling there in the center of Maybelline. It was their Dream BB cream, but in BRONZER form.

Contrary to popular belief, I love bronzers. How else am I to find a sparkly foundation with even coverage and SPF? Plus, I don’t have to shell out major $$$, so liquid bronzers in the summertime are my ride-or-dies. Love them. I love Maybelline and their regular Dream BB cream, it’s always so good to me! So I snatched this sucker up and continued about my merry way.

Let’s get down to the nitty gritty. This is what it’s supposed to do, as quoted from Maybelline:

Bronze-BB-MEDIUM_DEEP_pack-shotBB cream with 8 great skin benefits for a sunkissed glow with a good skin twist.
For all skin types. Sheer coverage.

Why You’ll Love It

BB creams combine skincare + makeup in 1 simple step. 8-in-1 sunkissed glow perfector:

  • Illuminates skin
  • Warms skin tone
  • Evens
  • Veils imperfections
  • Protects with SPF 25
  • Hydrates thirsty skin
  • Refreshes
  • Smooths

And here is what I look like with it on.

IMG_3665
Maybelline  Face Studio Master Concealer in Medium 50/Deep, Dream BB Bronzer in Deep, ABH Brow Definer and Brow Gel, Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me and Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita II.

So the product squeezes out like your regular tinted moisturizer; if you’ve used the regular tinted cream from this line before, I’d say this formula has matching consistency, but is just the tiniest bit more pearlized than the regular, and this is due to the sheer coverage mentioned above. When applied, I found that my skin tone was evened and smoothed (Hooray!), and was definitely illuminated, especially when I used a highlight underneath. I really like how the formula feels on my skin, it feels like it’s protecting my moisturizer with the creamy feel, but it’s not heavy. Kudos to Maybelline, they do their thang. While quite a bit of my bumps and grinds were covered, it didn’t completely mask everything, but this is also a drugstore bronzer. For the $6.49 price, I thought this was a winner.

The only complaint I have is that it’s not the best oil fighter, and my face is an oil refinery. I know it’s not specialize for oil-control, but it lasts about 3 hours before I have to blot the heck outta my face. That’s kind of annoying, because I’m  college student and a working girl with five different organizations on her hands, I can’t consistently refresh my makeup. But like I said, this is a drugstore product, and everything else is amazing, so if you have any other skin type rather than this wretched oily, this is a win-win for you. Oily homies, I’d still give it a whirl, but be cautious. I also apply thin layers without powder, so I think if I use a finishing powder that problem would be a bit less apparent.

RATING: 4/5 bronze medals. 

Y’all know, I love Maybelline, I always will, and I will always trust their products. They’re like home,  I know I can go back to their cosmetics at the end of a long day if I don’t feel like being adventurous.

Leave a Reply

