c’est la face-ipsy bag + makeup March 2016

Happy Monday! I’m back from Spring Break and I have so many new things to show you guys! Starting off these firsts, I got my first shipment from ipsy this month! I’m going to show you what I got in my personalized bag and a look to go with it. 

So I was stoked to get my first ipsy bag! I’ve heard so many good things about ipsy, and I wasn’t surprised, because when I heard it was spearheaded by Michelle Phan, I knew it had to be a good thing. I always watched her videos when I was younger and first starting out makeup, and she’s always been one of my favorite beauty gurus, so when I was looking for a beauty subscription to try, I knew ipsy had to be the first.

If you don’t know what ipsy is, it’s a beauty subscription service which sends you “glam bags” of 5 beauty samples per month. There’s always at least one full sized product and makeup brush. This is $12 a month and billed when the bag is shipped. You know it’s arrived when you get this adorable hot pink bubble wrap envelope.

IMG_2924[1]
Worn not with glam bag: Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz and Brow Gel, Maybelline Fit Me Foundation, Avon eyeshadow duo, NARS lip pencil
So this is my bag and look…it’s a super natural one because that’s how I like to wear my makeup, but I still think it’s a really cute everyday look that’s perfect for the upcoming spring weather. What I think is really cool about ipsy is that the bags are different depending on your beauty quiz that you take when signing up. I’m obsessed with mine, I think it’s absolutely adorable. I know it’s a little iffy from the photo, but it’s this cool turquoise color with coral flowers. The zipper has the ipsy logo and it’s actually a pretty spacious makeup bag.

What’s Inside

PRIMER: The first item absolutely took my breath away. A Make Up For Ever Primer!! I couldn’t wait to try it on. The “Skin Equalizer” is promoted by the website to “triple the power of your foundation: easier application, optimized makeup result, improved wear.”

IMG_2903[1]
$36, USD. Travel Size (pictured) $17, USD.

When I first squeezed the product out, it had a surprisingly oily consistency; I was expecting it to be a bit thicker. It has a slight smell of rubbing alcohol, but it goes away almost immediately. It did make my foundation more even when I applied over it, and I didn’t notice an “easier application”, because I always apply the same way, but the primer really helped making my foundation look more professional and flawless. I looked almost airbrushed and it kind of scared me how good it was.

LIP LACQUER: Okay so next item was a lip lacquer, which I was stoked on, because you guys know I’m a lip product junkie. It’s by a company called Model Co., which I’ve never used prior, and in the color “socialite”, which is a coral color, perfect for spring. When I swatched the product, I noticed how glossy it was, which honestly caught me off guard; I’ve been so addicted to matte products for so long, I forgot gloss existed.IMG_2904[1] The consistency was also pretty heavy, but I love heavy and creamy lip products. Because the product is so shiny, there’s not much of a tint, so it’s noticeable, but not really. I often mix it with my Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipstick to give it a more cherry red color. It’s a full-sized product however, which is always exciting, and I can see myself wearing it in a calmer setting or with my hair up. (Windy climates hate sticky glosses!)

EYELINER: Boy, am I not a fan of eyeliner pencils. I mean, the felt tip liner pen exists, and I am a winged liner fanatic! But when I saw this liner in the bag, it was green, and that intrigued me. I know green products make my eyes pop, so I was interested in seeing how this would work out. It’s from the brand Ofra, and it’s another full-sized sample. When I swatched it, I found that the product was super pigmented, which is always a plus, and not only is the product pigmented, it’s smooth which you don’t always see with eye pencils. The website says the product is “created with a synthetic eyeliner base for a smooth, soft, and long lasting application.” I thought that was an interesting thing to put in the description. Not only was it soft and pigmented, but the eyeliner also had a sparkle.

I. Love. Sparkle. So naturally, I was in heaven with my swatch. But when I applied it, I found that it really didn’t show up on my skin easily, and I had to go over it over and over again for something to be noticeable. Not a bad product, just a little annoying to get to show up. (Product color: Green Go)

FACE MASK: From Global Beauty Care, this dead sea mud mask has ingredients from Israel. It’s good for all skin types, and cleans your face, rids it of impurities, and replenishes vitamins and minerals to your face. Okay. So I haven’t tried it yet, but some of the reviews online says the product burns…which…alarms me a bit. They said it worked, but had a slight burn. Masks shouldn’t burn, but I’m still gonna try it, as long as it works. And I love face masks, so I can’t really pass up a free one. I’ll be my own judge for this one.

IMG_2908[1]
I really hope this doesn’t burn my face!! Will post a review soon.

EYESHADOW BRUSH: I pulled out this brush and I could tell it definitely had synthetic bristles, which I like, because I knew it was going to be soft. The brush is from Beau Gasich Paris, and I thought the description was very boastful for an eyeshadow brush. The ipsy website says the product “enables beautiful, flawless application of loose and cream shadows. This handmade brush distributes pigment evenly and smoothly, and can be used to apply powder, liquid or cream products as well.” Personally, I thought it was a’ight. Nothing remotely specatcular. The application process was smooth, but it did take quite a bit of eyeshadow to make it on my face. It was fine though.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with my first ipsy bag, I thought all the products fit my style perfectly, and trying all of these out was super fun. I’m really looking forward to wearing more of these products, and I’m so looking forward to more fun posts that I get to do for y’all! If you have an ipsy bag, let’s compare bags! I love the concept of these!

xx, Kay.

Today’s Jams: Telegraph Ave/Sober, Daniela Andrade, Ha Ha Heart (album), Donora

Leave a Reply

