c’est la face-Being a BADgal

Happy Makeup Monday, gorgeous! Let’s talk about Benefit mascara, which is easily one of the most famous mascara lines in the world. Let’s look at the good, bad, and curly: I’m giving you the honest lo-down on whether these lash painters are worth their hype. The benefits (ha!) are different, depending on what you’re looking for. Starting…now!

BADGALS FINISH FIRST: I wear glasses, and it’s challenging finding a mascara that’s visible underneath them. Few are up to the challenge.”BADgal lash” is one of those few. The website advertises a thick black formula, and usually those words mean “Lets hope your lashes can lift weights!”. I honestly barely feel the product, and I’ve dealt with some heavy mascaras (I’m looking at you, MAC ZoomLash).

10649249-1352719037-283684
BADgal mini size, $12. Full size, $19.

Also, THIS MASCARA DOESN’T CLUMP. Maybe it’s because of the light weight formula and huge applicator, but there’s not even clumping on the brush. You will never deal with a bulge. I’ve been using this product for years and still have yet to come across one. Along with being voluminous, there’s little I’d change about this product. That being said, there are some areas of improvement. First off, you have to work to separate your lashes. The brush likes to group your lashes together, and for me it takes multiple swipes to get them separate. Next, the product tends to curl my lashes forward. I usually have to go over them extra times to curl them upwards, and the brush needs maneuvering to get my outer and inner lashes, as well as my bottom lashes.                     RATING: 4/5 eyelash bats. 

OF COURSE THEY’RE REAL!: Winner of 5 awards (I didn’t even know that, wow), they’re real!” is a product I’ve begun using in the past year. It came with a palette I bought (a cheat to trying out several products instead of paying full price for one at a time), and I’m so thankful it did. “they’re real!” is the best mascara I have ever used.

Theyre_Real_box-and-vial.jpg
Comes in “jet black”, “beyond brown”, and”beyond blue”.

Most of the problems with BADgal are fixed, however the grouping of lashes is still a bit of a dilemma. Positively, the formula is literally weightless. Seriously, it’s as if you’re combing your lashes and they lengthen. The volume isn’t as dramatic as BADgal, but it doesn’t need to be. The curl and depth you get from the sheer stiletto length of your lashes is enough. I can attest to their claim “reveals lashes you didn’t know you had!” I swear, it’s as if “they’re real” gives me lashes. I feel no drying, and it won’t come off until you want it to. Since the only downside is separation, this product is definitely worth the buy. I recommend buying the mini size if you don’t wear makeup often, because I’ve had it for a year and it’s still not gone.   RATING: 4.8/5 eyelash bats. 

LIKE MY CURLS?: In contrast to other products, “Roller Lash Curling Mascara” is fairly new, and with new products, there’s often kinks and clumps to work out. I dig the concept of Benefit focusing directly on curling, especially since curling isn’t the strongest point of their mascaras. Plus, with an innovative brush that rolls and vitamin B5, this product also boasts waterproof formula and long wear. I tried the product at a makeup counter. It went on clumpy and slightly weight-y, which surprised me as a Benefit mascara. The formula needed about 15 seconds to dry and even then, I blinked and some product got underneath my eye. I categorize Roller Lash as BADgal’s mom from Mean Girls. “I’m not a regular mascara, I’m a cool mascara!” A mascara that clumps near the outer lashes, too. I will say that the mascara makes lashes almost ridiculously long; mine looked like spiders. I like the spider look, and I realize I’m alone with this sinking ship of an opinion, but even I have to draw a line somewhere. I guess the curling method is accomplished, but at what cost? I’ve used better drugstore mascaras, honestly. RATING: 2.6/5 eyelash bats. 

roller-lash-whyweloveit-1-reg
I like the design of the packaging, though. Super cute, super retro.

Today’s Jams: Islands, Hey Ocean!, Love In The Middle of a Firefight, Dillon Francis (ft. Brendon Urie)  Hope you found Makeup Monday BENEFIcial, pretty! Have you used BADgal waterproof and they’re real lim-edish? Are they worth purchasing? Let me know! Also let me know if you found this review helpful, and your opinion on Benefit products! xx

Leave a Reply

